Skip to main content Skip to navigation
School of Music Festival of Contemporary Art Music
Washington State University’s School of Music will present its 2018 Festival of Contemporary Art Music Thursday-Saturday, March 1-3, in Kimbrough Concert Hall and Bryan Hall Theatre. All concerts are free and open to the public.
  • 11 a.m. ThursdayStudent Composers Concert at Kimbrough Concert Hall, featuring new works by WSU student composers and performed by WSU music students.
  • 8 p.m. ThursdayFaculty Composers Concert, at Bryan Hall Theatre, featuring the premiere of professor David Jarvis’s work, “Wynwood Project No. 2,” performed by the WSU Symphonic Wind Ensemble, along with works by faculty members Greg Yasinitsky, Ryan Hare and Scott Blasco.
  • 3 p.m. FridayElectroAcoustic Concert in Kimbrough Concert Hall, featuring Caroline Miller’s “Subsong,” Gabrielle Cerberville’s “But where is the Lamb?,” and Richard Johnson’s video work “Socavino.” Also presented will be recent music by WSU students Merina Gordon, Jake Kargl and Kirill Polyanskiy, and faculty member Scott Blasco.
  • 8 p.m. SaturdayConcert featuring guest composer Laura Schwendinger, WSU Symphony Orchestra and WSU faculty, at Bryan Hall. Schwendinger is a professor of composition at the University of Wisconsin-Madison. Her music has been performed and recorded internationally by numerous leading artists, and has earned major international honors and awards from the American Academy in Berlin Prize, the Guggenheim Foundation and the American Academy of Arts and Letters, among many others.

Laura Schweldinger portrait

The Festival of Contemporary Art Music celebrates art music of our own time. Works by student and faculty composers are highlighted along with those of visiting composers.

“Without the festival, and others like it, young people might not be introduced to this music,” said Charles Argersinger, professor emeritus and festival creator. “It really is in danger of becoming extinct.”

The 2017 Festival of Contemporary Art Music is made possible through generous support from the College of Arts and Sciences and the School of Music. The festival was founded in 1989 by Dr. Argersinger and is currently under the direction of Ryan M. Hare.