Skip to main content Skip to navigation
School of Music Festival of Contemporary Art Music

Schedule of Events

2017 WSU Festival of Contemporary Art Music/SCI Region VIII Conference

All performances are free of charge and open to the public.

Thursday, March 2

Meet & Greet Reception

5:00–7:30 p.m.
(Paid conference attendees only)
Hors d’oeuvres, tea, coffee, soft drinks served

Concert 1: Opening Gala

Bryan Hall Theatre, 7:30 p.m.

The Wynwood Project (2016, world premiere) – David Jarvis

I. Aliens are Coming
II. Lizard
III. Hamburger Man and the Tree People
IV. Angel of Harmony and Child
V. Blue Man

Five Poems for Wind Quintet (1994) – Karel Husa

I. Walking Bird
II. Happy Bird
Interlude: Lamenting Bird…
III. …With a Dead Bird
IV. Fighting Birds
V. Bird Flying High Above

Solstice Wind Quintet
Sophia Tegart, flute; Keri E. McCarthy, oboe; Shannon Scott, clarinet;
Martin King, horn; Ryan M. Hare, bassoon


“Stanzas,” After Poe for string orchestra (2016) – Ryan M. Hare

I. Fervid, flick’ring torch of life
II. The unembodied essence
III. With a strange sound
IV. With desp’rate energy

WSU Symphony Orchestra; Ryan M. Hare, guest conductor

Jazz Concerto (2016) – Gregory W. Yasinitsky

I. Louisiana Reel
II. Nights of Wind and Water
III. What He Said!

Willis Delony, piano;David Snider, bass; David Jarvis, drums;
WSU Symphony Orchestra; Danh Pham, conductor and music director

Friday, March 3

Paper Session 1

Kimbrough Music Building, Room 346, 11:10 a.m.

“Process and Intuition in the Piano Music of Ann Southam” – David D. McIntire

“The Business with Composers” – Ian Evans Guthrie

Concert 2: Electroacoustic Music

Kimbrough Concert Hall, 3:00 p.m.

Panic Attack (2016) – Timothy Polashek – Matthew Polashek, saxophone with fixed media

Brake  (2016) – Tyler Entelisano – fixed media

Winter’s Summer (2014) – Ted King-Smith – Duke Sullivan, saxophone with fixed media

We No Longer Hear Human Voices (2016) – Daniel Sitler – fixed media


The Burning Binds and the Binding Burns (2014) – David D. McIntire – David McIntire, no-input mixer with fixed media

Clouds, Light  (2016) – Scott Blasco – fixed media

ahalugisdi unole (“to quiet the wind”) (2014) – Thomas Dempster – Ryan M. Hare, bassoon with fixed media

 Concert 3: Post-Haste Reed Duo

Bryan Hall Theatre, 7:30 p.m.

Soundscapes for alto saxophone and bassoon (2015) – Michael Johanson

I. The Hills of Basilicata
II. Snowscapes
III. Moto Perpetuo

Viriditas (2004/2014) – Ryan M. Hare

Dorian Staircase (2015) – Frank Nawrot


Lacrimosa (1991/Arr. Jeff Chamber 2014) – Louis Andriessen

Palpitations (2011) – Takuma Itoh; Sean Fredenburg, alto saxophone

The Call of Cthulhu (2016) – Paul Taylor; Javier Rodriguez, bassoon with fixed media

bioMechanics (2011) – Simon Hutchinson; Post-Haste Reed Duo with fixed media

Post-Concert Reception
Merry Cellars Winery

1300 Henley Ct., Pullman, WA 99163
(Paid conference attendees only)
Hors d’oeuvres served

Saturday, March 4

Paper Session 2:

Kimbrough Music Building, Room 346, 11:10 a.m.

“Greg Steinke’s Sacre Blue! For Bass Clarinet” – Roger Cole

“Jazz Meets Classical Music: Third Stream in the 21st Century” – Greg Yasinitsky

Concert 4: Solo and Chamber Music

Kimbrough Concert Hall, 3:00 p.m.

Sacre Bleu! (2013) – Greg A. Steinke; Roger Cole, bass clarinet

Spiro’s Dance (2014) – Tim Chatwood; Alice Hiemstra, oboe

Journey—The Song Cycle (2004) – Sheli Nan

I. The Canoe
II. The River
III. The Path

Brian Carter, tenor; Lark Powers, piano


Super Super Mother Bad (2016) – Adam Hill; Sophia Tegart, flute

It passed me by at Dawn (2016) – Ulf Grahn; Sophia Tegart, flute

Tryptich of Fugues (2016) – Daniel Perttu; Nancy DeSalvo and Joseph Bandi, piano four-hands

Concert 5: Solo and Chamber Music

Bryan Hall Theatre, 7:30 p.m.

Intervals II (2014) – Philip Schuessler – Chris Dickey, tuba; Jeffrey Savage, piano

Soundscape Retreats (2014, world premiere) – Ian Evans Guthrie

I. Wy’east
II. Lake of Sunlit Shadows
III. Tropical Sabbath

Ian Evans Guthrie, piano

Landscape with Running Figures (2016, world premiere) – David Jarvis – Jacob Kargl, timpani


from Five Dickinson Settings (2016, in progress) – Scott Blasco

I. I stepped from plank to plank
II. Ample make this bed

Brian Carter, tenor; Roland Ramirez, percussion;
Scott Blasco, live electronics

Swarm (2011) – Aleks Sternfeld-Dunn

I. Hive Mentality
II. The Queen’s Lament
III. Swarm

Sophia Tegart, flute; Shannon Scott, clarinet

Farewell Reception
Etsi Bravo

215 E. Main St., Pullman, WA 99163
(Paid conference attendees only)